Skip to Content

Private Probation Services Council

FAQs - Frequently Asked Questions

 

Becoming licensed:

Who is required to be registered?
How do I become registered?
What information is required to be reported quarterly?
How long will it take to process my application?
Is an exam required?
I am licensed in another state and want to operate in Tennessee. Do you have reciprocity agreements with other states?

Changes in registration status:

How do I renew a license?
How far in advance of expiration date should my renewal be completed?
I let my registration expire. How do I have it reinstated?
May I retire my registration or make it inactive?
I recently updated my status. Why hasn’t my status changed online?

Change of Address/other key information:

Am I required to notify the Council if I change my address?
Can I change my information online?

Training/Continuing Education:

Is continuing education required?

Complaints:


How do I file a complaint against a company/individual?
What happens after I file a complaint?
What can the state do if I have a legitimate grievance?

Misc.:

How do I determine if an individual/company is licensed?
How can I get the forms I need?
How do I know when and where regulatory boards meet?

Does this board have a newsletter to which I can subscribe?



Who is required to be registered?

Any privately owned and operated corporation, enterprise, or entity which contracts to provide general probation supervision, counseling and/or collection services for person convicted of a misdemeanor and placed on probation.

Back to top

How do I become registered?

Submit a complete application to our office including:

 

  • $100 initial application fee
  • Sworn criminal record report for each employee or volunteer
  • Written policies and procedures for staff training
  • Proof of insurance and performance bond as required by applicable statutes and rules
  • Written standards of supervision and description of staffing levels
  • Written procedures for handling court-ordered fines, fees, restitution and community service
  • Written policy for handling indigent offenders
  • Written procedures to follow to obtain evidence to present to the court to revoke an offender’s probation
  • A schedule showing range of all probation fees and charges paid by probationers


Back to top

Upon approval, the registration fee with the Council shall be $100.  An additional registration fee for each second or subsequent judicial district in which it provides probation supervision in Tennessee will also be required.

Back to top

What information is required to be reported quarterly?

Once a registration has been issued, the private entity shall supply a quarterly report to the clerk of the criminal court and general sessions court in each judicial district in which the entity proposes to provide misdemeanor probation services in a form and manner specified by the clerk.

In addition, each private entity shall submit a quarterly report and pay a quarterly provider fee to the Private Probation Services Council in the amount of one dollar ($1) per quarter for every person reported on the case load of the entity in the quarterly report.

The report and fee must be accompanied by a sworn quarterly provider fee form.

The provider fee is due on May 20, August 20, November 20 and February 20 of each year and will be considered timely if postmarked by the 20th of the month that it is due.

There will be an additional fee of five cents ($0.05) per probationer reported for every ten (10) days by which the provider fee is late.

Back to top

How long will it take to process my application?

10-14 business days if all requirements have been met

Back to top

Is an exam required?

No

Back to top

I am licensed in another state and want to operate in Tennessee. Do you have reciprocity agreements with other states?

No

Back to top

How do I renew a license?

Renewal notices are mailed 60 days prior to the date of expiration. To renew a license, the private entity must pay a renewal fee of $100 within thirty (30) days prior to the expiration of its registration.

Back to top

How far in advance of expiration date should my renewal be completed?

Renewals must be received thirty (30) days prior to the expiration date.

Back to top

I let my registration expire. How do I have it reinstated?

Renewals received after thirty (30) days prior to the expiration date are subject to a $100.

Renewals received between thirty one (31) and sixty (60) days after the scheduled renewal date shall require a late fee of $200.

Failure to renew within sixty (60) days of the scheduled renewal date shall be grounds for denial of a renewal registration.

Back to top

May I retire my registration or make it inactive?

No, there is no retirement or inactive status.  A registration may be voluntarily surrendered if it is no longer needed by returning to our office with a written statement.

Back to top

I recently updated my status. Why hasn’t my status changed online?

Your status will change online the business day after it is processed and approved by our office.

Back to top

Am I required to notify the Council if I change my address?

Yes, a written notification must be submitted.

Back to top

Can I change my information online?

No, only renewals may be processed online.

Back to top

Is continuing education required?

No

Back to top

How do I file a complaint against a company/individual?

Complete and submit a complaint form. You can download a complaint form, file online, or request a form by calling 615 741-1741.

Back to top

What happens after I file a complaint?

If your complaint alleges a violation within the Council's jurisdiction, your complaint will be assigned a complaint number and, in most cases, forwarded to the Respondent, who will then be required to provide a written response to the Council within fourteen (14) days. The complaint and response will then be reviewed by legal counsel. Legal counsel will then present the complaint, along with a recommendation, to the Council.

f it appears that your complaint does not allege a violation within the Council's jurisdiction, you will be notified. We will attempt to point you to the appropriate agency if possible.

Back to top

What can the state do if I have a legitimate grievance?

If you have a grievance against a person or business regulated by the Private Probation Services Council, you can file a complaint with our office or may consider consulting legal counsel.

Back to top

How do I determine if an individual/company is licensed?

License Search is available online.

Back to top

How can I get the forms I need?

You may download forms from our Web site or call our office (615 741-1741) to have forms sent to you.

Back to top

How do I know when and where regulatory boards meet?

The Private Probation Services Council meets every three (3) months. The schedule is posted on our Web site.

Back to top

Does this board have a newsletter to which I can subscribe?

No

Back to top