Department of Human Services

Families First Online Policy Manual

Rights and Responsibilities




Table of Contents


The non-discrimination statutes prohibit discrimination on the basis of race, color, national origin, age, and disability in programs or activities that receive or benefit from federal financial assistance. These same statutes prohibit discrimination on the basis of sex in education and training programs that receive federal assistance. Discrimination on the basis of disability is prohibited in all programs, services, or activities of public entities. ADA (Americans with Disabilities Act) coverage does not depend on the receipt of federal funds.


The employment discrimination statutes prohibit discrimination on the basis of race, color, religion, national origin, citizenship status, and unfair documentary practices regarding employment verification, sex, age, and disability in private and public-sector employment. Depending on the circumstances, the Department may be subject to coverage under both the nondiscrimination statutes and the employment discrimination statutes.


These laws apply to:


        State agencies that receive federal money through a block grant to conduct welfare programs.


        County and city agencies that assist in job training as part of a welfare program.


        Private contractors and service providers that help welfare participants find jobs or training.


        County offices that determine eligibility for Food Stamps.


        Offices that operate federally funded child nutrition programs (for example, National School Lunch Program and the Women, Infants and Children program).


        State agencies that refer welfare recipients to businesses or public agencies for employment.


        Private contractors and businesses that contract with the state to provide job referral services for welfare participants.



Table of Contents