Skip to Content

Tennessee Archaeological Advisory Council

Meeting Details

  • No meeting scheduled.

Board Characteristics:

Eleven members appointed by the Governor for five-year terms.

Members include:

  • five anthropologists representing the University of Tennessee, University of Memphis, Vanderbilt University, Middle Tennessee State University and East Tennessee State University;
  • one representative from the Tennessee Historical Commission;
  • one representative from a recognized archaeological association in Tennessee;
  • three members of Native American descent and representative of the Native American community in Tennessee;
  • one member from the public at large.

Commissioned under T.C.A. 11-6-103.

The statute authorizing this board expires June 30, 2016 and the one-year wind-down period begins.

Member Term Expires Representation
James Mark Cantrell 06-30-2015 Native American Community
Dr. Jeff Chapman, Chairman 06-30-2018 University of Tennessee
Patrick Bentley Cummins 06-30-2018 Native American Community
Ms. Georgia Dennis 06-30-2013 Public-at-Large
Dr. David Dye 06-30-2020 University of Memphis
Sandra Ellis 06-30-2017 Native American Community
Dr. Jay D. Franklin 06-30-2016 East Tennessee State University
Marilyn Peters 06-30-2016 Archaeological Association
Dr. Kevin Smith 06-30-2017 Middle Tennessee State University
Joe Swann 06-30-2016 Tennessee Historical Commission
Barbara Tsakirgis 06-30-2017 Vanderbilt University