Skip to Content

Superintendent Study Council

Tennessee Superintendent Study CouncilPurpose

The purposes of the Superintendent Study Council are to:

  • Provide an opportunity for the continuous study of problems of the profession;
  • Jointly evaluate, with the Tennessee Department of Education, ongoing instructional programs and recommend changes designed to improve those programs;


Membership in the Supervisor Study Council is open to all superintendents and directors of Tennessee schools.


In order to provide a more direct opportunity for active participation in the activities of the study council and to keep responsive to the needs of its members and to facilitate more direct cooperation between the department and the supervisors of the state, the Superintendent Study Council is organized into Area Study Councils for meeting purposes.

For further information, contact your Area liaison or Don Boyd, Strategic Planning Director. Centers of Regional Excellence.

Reporting attendance of State Alternative Credit is the sole responsibility of the Event Coordinator.

Study Council Executive Committee

Member School System Area
Joe Barlow, Chair Joackson County Schools Middle Tennessee
John Thomas Hardin County Southwest
Denise Brown Unicoi County   First Tennessee
Sam Miles Henry County Northwest
Don Roberts Meigs County Southeast
Rob Britt Blount County East
Roger Lewis Smith County Upper Cumberland
Phillip Wallace Stewart County Mid-Cumberland
Rebecca Sharper Franklin South Central
Matt Smith Tennessee Technological University Advisory Member
Wayne Miller TOSS Ex-Officio