Skip to Content

Federal Programs: Title I, Part A
Distinguished Schools

The Title I Distinguished Schools Recognition Program is a joint endeavor of the U.S. Department of Education and the National Association of State Title I Directors. It provides an opportunity for Title I schools from every state to be publicly recognized for positive educational achievements.

The purpose of the Title I Distinguished Schools Recognition Program is to identify schools that are ensuring that all children have access to effective instructional strategies and challenging academic content; and that are demonstrating success in ensuring that all children make significant progress toward learning that content.

Two schools in Tennessee have been recognized, at the national level, as Title I Distinguished Schools for 2012-2013.

Thomas Magnet School

Bedford County Schools
Mindi DeWitt, Principal
515 Tate Avenue
Shelbyville, TN 37160

Montgomery Central Elementary

Montgomery County Schools
Nancy Grant, Principal
4011 Highway 48
Cunningham, TN 37052