Skip to Content

Foreign Language/World Language

Foreign language curriculum standards include both classic and modern languages. Classic languages usually include Latin and Greek while modern languages include those languages currently being spoken around the world. The foreign language standards are based on the national standards referred to as the five Cs: Communication, Culture, Connections, Comparisons and Communities.

Based on the national standards, student learning expectations and student performance indicators were developed for each standard. At the K-5 level, the standards provide for study beginning as early as kindergarten. At the 6-12 level, students may begin first year study at grade 6, 7, 8 or 9. The standards then provide for continuation from this first year through the fifth year if the student desires to continue this far.

While there is no statewide assessment of foreign languages, assessment in the classroom is essential to determine student progress. Acquisition of language occurs over time. These standards are designed to guide the learning process as students develop their skills in the new language in preparation for living in today’s global society.


Modern Languages:

Elementary Modern Language Grades K-5

K-5download pdf file

Secondary Modern Language Grade 6-12


Classic Languages:

Secondary Classic Language Grades 6-12

Revision Committeedownload pdf file