Grades 3-8 TCAP Achievement Test

The TCAP Achievement test is a timed, multiple choice assessment that measures skills in reading, language arts, mathematics, science and social studies.

Tennessee is an English-only state, which means all assessments are provided in English only. We do not offer any of our assessments in a native language format.

2014-15 Social Studies Assessments

The State Board of Education approved an assessment transition plan for social studies for the 2014-15 school year.  There will be a field test in 2014-15, and operational social studies testing will resume in the 2015-16 school year. More information about the field and operational test can be found here. Read the entire plan for more information.

For Students & Parents

For Educators

2014-15 Test Design

The TCAP Achievement frameworks show all of the SPIs contained in each reporting category, as well as the number of test items drawn from each category listed by subject and grade level. Please note that dropped SPIs will not be listed on these frameworks as they are not on the tests for this year.

Achievement Frameworks

Reading/Language —

Mathematics —

Science —

Achievement Standards Tables

Reading/Language —

Mathematics —

Guides, Directions and Manuals

Dropped SPI Information

TCAP Cut Scores

Reporting Categories Performance Index

The charts below show the Reporting Categories Performance Index cut scores for each grade level and subject of the TCAP tests.

The index cut scores are an estimate of the number of items the student would be expected to answer correctly to achieve basic, proficient and advanced designation if there had been 100 such items for each category.

Please note that the item totals shown on these documents include only the operational items. (Field test items are not included since they are not scored.)

Scale Score Ranges and Number Correct Cut Scores

The charts below display the scale score ranges and number correct score ranges for each grade level and subject, indicating which ranges are below basic, basic, proficient and advanced.

Please note that the item totals shown on these documents include only the operational items. (Field test items are not included since they are not scored.)

Time Limits for TCAP Achievement Test

Testing times do not include time needed for coding student demographics or distributing and collecting tests. For each content area, add 5 to 10 minutes for administering the sample test questions and reading introductions and directions.

The time limits are generous and allow most students time to finish. Breaks are recommended between content areas and parts 1 and 2 in a subtest.

Extended time for Achievement assessments are determined by the IEP team or 504 committee.

Time Limits and Number of Items

**Please note that the item totals shown on these documents include all items tested (operational and field test items).

Achievement Test Items

The TCAP Achievement Test includes only criterion-referenced items for students in grades 3 through 8 in Reading/Language Arts, Mathematics, Science and Social Studies.

The kindergarten (K) through 2nd grade tests will include norm-referenced items for Reading/Language Arts, Mathematics, Science and Social Studies. See K-2 Achievement for Objectives and Sub Skills assessed by the K-2 subtest.

Criterion-Referenced (CRT) Items

Criterion-referenced items measure a student's performance according to specific standards, rather than to the performance of other test takers.

The 3-8 Achievement Test assesses student performance on items directly aligned with the State Curriculum Content Standards. Performance information is grouped by Reporting Categories. Each Reporting Category measures student performance on items linked to specific State Performance Indicators.

Last Update: June 18, 2015
var hash = window.location.hash; $("#accordion1").accordion("activate", hash);