English Learner (EL) Assessments

Under No Child Left Behind (NCLB), states are required to assess the proficiency of all English Learner (EL) students.  According to Title III under NCLB, states are to measure the annual growth of an ELL student's English development in reading, writing, listening, and speaking.

World-Class Instructional Design and Assessment (WIDA)

Beginning in the 2014-15 school year, the department will transition from the ELDA assessment for EL students to the ACCESS for ELs assessment in order to determine English Language Proficiency Levels. This move will provide valuable results that serve as one criterion to aid in determining language proficiency for ELs.  

WIDA results will help guide decisions regarding student participation in content area classrooms without program support and state academic content assessments without accommodations. This assessment will also provide districts with information to aid in evaluating the effectiveness of EL programs.

For more information and resources, visit the WIDA website.For specific Tennessee guidance, visit the WIDA Tennessee page.

English Linguistically Simplified Assessment (ELSA)

ELSA is an accommodated version of the TCAP Achievement Test available during Spring TCAP Achievement testing. It is intended for English Language Learner (ELL) students. The content areas tested on TCAP ELSA are Reading/Language Arts, Math, Science, and Social Studies.  Test questions are the same as ACH test questions but feature simplified language to reduce linguistic barriers.  Allowable ELL accommodations can be given to students taking the ELSA.

TCAP Achievement 3-8 and ELSA (Extended Time Limits)

Last Update: August 7, 2014