Skip to Content

K-2 Achievement Assessment Information

The kindergarten through second grade assessment (formerly known as SAT 10) measures basic reading and math skills. It is a norm-referenced assessment designed to measure individual student achievement compared to national norms. The K-2 assessment provides a benchmark of how students perform on the foundational skills required for success in future grades.

In 2012-13, more than 100 Tennessee school districts decided to participate in the K-2 assessment, which resulted in important new student performance information. In the 2013-14 school year, districts will continue to have the option to participate in the K-2 assessment.

The Tennessee Department of Education identified the groups of standards which correspond to some of the most important topics and skills for students to master in each grade or course. These standards, called Focus Clusters, include standards for kindergarten, first and second grade for the 2013-14 school year. Please visit for more information on the K-2 Focus Clusters:

K - 2 Testing Schedule

2014 K-2 Achievement Assessment Errata Sheetdownload pdf file

2014 Testing Schedule for K-2

K - 2 Frameworks

K - 2 Spring 2014 Frameworks

Tips from Tennessee Teachers

Instructional coach Felicia Bates gives tips on analyzing K-2 assessment data

Second grade teacher Melissa Collins talks about using the K-2 assessment to plan