Skip to Content

About Community & Rural Development

Tennessee is the kind of place people want to live, work and raise a family. Our vibrant communities across the state provide a quality of life that is second to none and are places anyone would be proud to call home.


TNECD’s Community and Rural Development Division uses established programs to connect rural communities to resources and encourage them to identify and develop strategies around their unique existing assets – all to attract high quality jobs and advance rural Tennessee economically.

TNECD’s Community & Rural Development programs

The division accomplishes this through the ThreeStar program designed to strengthen economic development, ensure responsible fiscal management, and assist with public safety, health and education efforts locally.
The Select Tennessee program assists communities prepare sites for investment and job creation offering reduced risk and shortened timelines for development.
The Retire Tennessee program strives to attract retirees who have valuable professional skills and talents which enhance the quality of life and attractiveness of Tennessee communities for investment.
  The Tennessee Main Street program and its affiliated Tennessee Downtowns program assists communities with downtown revitalization and management strategies based upon the National Main Street Center model.
Through the National Flood Insurance Program, division staff provide technical assistance and coordination activities for sound floodplain management.

Community and Rural Development Team

 

 

Kendrick Curtis
Director of Community & Rural Development

Kendrick.Curtis@tn.gov 615-253-1865 Nashville Office
 

Amy New
Rural Program Director

Amy.New@tn.gov
615-253-1948

Nancy Williams
Tennessee Main Street Director

Nancy.Williams@tn.gov
615-253-1894

Stanley Harrison
Director of Special Projects

Stanley.Harrison@tn.gov
423-434-0158

Ramay Winchester
Retire Tennessee Program Director

Ramay.W.Winchester@tn.gov
615-975-4237

Marilyn Felts
Administrative Assistant

Marily.Felts@tn.gov
615-741-2373