Skip to Content

National Flood Insurance Program (Tennessee)

The National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP) in Tennessee works closely with private insurance companies to offer flood insurance to property owners and renters. In order to qualify for flood insurance, a community must join the NFIP and agree to enforce sound floodplain management standards.


The National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP) is a federal program created in 1968 that allows citizens in participating communities to purchase insurance coverage for potential property damage as a result of flooding. This voluntary program for local communities is administered by the Mitigation Division of the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA). The three components of the NFIP are:


  • Flood Insurance
  • Floodplain Management
  • Flood Hazard Mapping


In return for a local community adopting and enforcing local floodplain management regulations, flood insurance is available in the community. Currently, nearly 400 Tennessee communities participate in the NFIP. Of all natural disasters, flooding is historically responsible for the most loss of life and the greatest damage to property in the state. There are currently more than 21,000 stream miles that have identified flood hazard risks in Tennessee.


For information or assistance regarding NFIP in Tennessee, contact:


Amy Miller
State NFIP Coordinator