Skip to Content

State Prisons

Institutional Regional Map West Tennessee Middle Tennessee East Tennessee

The Tennessee Department of Correction consists of 14 state prisons located across the state. Eleven, of those facilities, are operated by the department and three are managed privately by Corrections Corporation of America.

The department also operates the Tennessee Correction Academy which trains corrections professionals, as well as criminal justice professionals from other government agencies.

Click in any region of the state to see a list of institutions located in that area or choose from the list of prisons below:

Bledsoe County Correctional Complex (formerly Southeastern Tennessee Regional Correctional Facility) - (Bledsoe County) Pikeville

Charles B. Bass Correctional Complex - (Davidson County) Nashville

Hardeman County Correctional Facility - (Hardeman County) Whiteville

Lois M. DeBerry Special Needs Facility - (Davidson County) Nashville

Mark H. Luttrell Correctional Center - (Shelby County) Memphis

Morgan County Correctional Complex - (Morgan County) Wartburg

Northeast Correctional Complex - (Johnson County) Site 1 - Roan Mountain; (Carter County) Site 2 - Mountain City

Northwest Correctional Complex - (Lake County) Tiptonville

Riverbend Maximum Security Institution - (Davidson County) Nashville

South Central Correctional Facility - (Wayne County) Clifton

Tennessee Prison for Women - (Davidson County) Nashville

Turney Center Industrial Complex - (Hickman County) Site 1 - Only; (Wayne County) Annex - Clifton

West Tennessee State Penitentiary - (Lauderdale County) Henning

Whiteville Correctional Facility - (Hardeman County) Whiteville

Additional Links